Why the Straight Face?

straight face

n.

A face that betrays no sign of emotion.

straight-faced (strtfst) adj.

Source: The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language

 

A lot of people have commented on my facial expression when I speak, especially when I speak on a serious occasion, like meetings or similar events. It’s not really new though, because I have been receiving these comments since quite a long time ago. They say that my face is so straight, almost portraying no emotion. It’s not that I don’t realize it. Instead, I am so much aware of the way I speak. Although it is not always the case, the straight face is how I intend it to be.

The interesting thing about people’s reaction to my so called straight face is that they seem to get frustrated by the emotion-less of my face. I don’t know why, but I have my guesses.

Maybe. Maybe it is frustrating to not be able to read someone’s faces. It’s nice when you can see the expression when a person’s talking, it means you most certainly know what they are thinking and meaning. When there’s no expression, it gets more difficult to read you.

The thing is, I don’t like it when people read me. Yeah, I said–wrote–it.

Or maybe. Maybe people like a more smiley smile faces, so that they can relax more, because straight face makes them feel under pressure?

The thing is if people see me as an emotion-less robot, I’ll take it as a compliment. 😉

For me, occasions like meetings are supposed to be serious, so I think smiley face is not really necessary here.

 

Leave a Reply

