On The Passing of Elie Wiesel

Night is many amazing things, but to me particularly, Elie Wiesel’s account of his horrifying experience in Auschwitz through Night is an example of how one can still be devoted to one’s god despite suffering unimaginable terrors exactly because of that. Night is a literary treasure in itself, but what astonishes me the most is not just the impeccable story-telling, which Wiesel was undoubtedly a master at, but the fact that he managed to maintain ‘a relationship’ with god after all the pain and suffering he endured.

I honestly don’t know how he did it. He definitely was not a credulous man of faith, because he had his doubts about god too.

In Night, he wrote, “Never shall I forget those moments which murdered my God and my soul and turned my dreams to dust.”

He also once stated, “I [never] denied God’s existence, but I doubted his absolute justice.”

This is something that I can relate to on so many levels, especially in my journey of discovering the meaning of god in a world where his presence seems to be non-existent.

Wiesel reminded the world of a history when humanity was capable of horrendous acts–acts that were just beyond our imagination. But he somehow could still find hope and goodness in humanity. He dedicated his life to eliminating hatred and bigotry. His faith may be different than mine, but to me personally, Wiesel was a quintessence of how having doubts about god did not have to impede our quest of discovering the ultimate purpose and meaning of our lives.

May he rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

