Aftermath: 7 things I learned from doing social media detox

My social media friends might have noticed (or not) that I’m currently back. I spent about 3 weeks totally inactive on all of my accounts and after the 3 weeks mark I started re-activating my accounts one by one. Where 1 week ago, I finally have them all back on.

Here are 7 things I learned by being away from social media.

  1. I realized how positive my days could be, without all the cringes, sighs, and silent criticisms towards social media posts that were too tacky, too politically incorrect, or just too much information.
  2. But I also realized that that’s just how social media are and how it’s going to be. I learned to appreciate the freedom that people have to post whatever they want. I love freedom.
  3. It dawned on me that how time flies is out of our control, but how we spend it is totally in our hands. Not being able to access my social media gave me ample time to dispose. That’s when I actually had time to jot down ideas, read a lot, or set my priorities straight. It enforces the cold hard fact that one second that has passed can never be taken back.
  4. Disallowing myself something only makes me want more of it. During the 3 weeks off of social media, I would have these urges to go on them to post whatever’s in my mind at the time. Now that I am back, I can tell that the urges are not as strong. This only confirms what I’ve known about myself for a while: hurdles and challenges actually drive, push, and motivate me, simply because ‘easy’ is just not as fun. 😜
  5. I actually genuinely wanted to know how people were. Because I really had no idea how they were, since I wasn’t on social media to see what they were up to.
  6. What we see on social media are just snippets and peeks of people’s lives. People mostly post only the stuffs that they want others to see, which do not reflect the depths of a person and struggles each individual goes through everyday. There are unposted moments that matter more–those are the things that make up a real person. This I learned from making direct conversations with people, not from lurking at their virtual presence from behind the screen.
  7. I also learned that there are people who actually remember my birthday without the Facebook birthday reminder. Whether you sent me greetings on my birthday or a few days late, I wanted everyone to know that it meant a lot.

If you ask me what changed after my detox, the answer is not much. It’s an experiment to test whether or not I can live completely without social media. The experiment has shown that I actually can, but I choose not to. This is a culture of my generation that I am unabashedly proud of. Despite the many criticisms towards social media, I have to argue that it is actually an epitome of progress. Imagine the time of the generation before us where communications took days to be completed. Compare it to today where getting connected is just a click away. It’s all a matter of being wise in utilizing everything in our disposal.

Leave a Reply

